You can have all that, you just have to keep going…

I have not long been back from the prayer meeting at church. During the meeting we were challenged to sit for fifteen minutes without ANY distractions. We were to pray and listen to see if God spoke to us. When it was first mentioned, I let out a silent sigh. Never in my life have I experienced God speaking to me despite being a Christian for over six years (or if He had I had never recognised it!)

So off we went into our own spaces for fifteen minutes. I began by asking God to forgive me and then I asked Him to speak to me, show me something or place a verse on my heart. I sat quietly and waited. Nothing. I felt a little discouraged. I joined the others and listened to the visions, the songs and the words that God had given them.

I left church and began the twenty-minute walk home, listening to my iPod. As I approached the last five minutes or so something really strange happened. I had turned my iPod off as I was coming to a busy main road and wanted to be more alert of the traffic as it was getting dark. As I turned onto the main road, I looked ahead of me and the road was empty. Everything was still and calm. I was taken aback. I had never seen this main road empty, even during the early hours of the morning. Suddenly a simple line came into my head and that was this: You can have all that. You just have to keep going. I thought about it for a few moments as I continued to walk. Then another line popped into my head. You can start again, your path is clear, now walk on and create a new beginning. I really felt that God was telling me that whatever had happened in the past, whatever I had done did not matter anymore. He had forgiven me. He gave me a much-needed reminder. The slate is clean and that I have the opportunity to start again. God was telling me that I have a whole journey ahead of me, a whole life to live. I just need to keep going.

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.’

(Psalm 51 vs 7)

One thought on “You can have all that, you just have to keep going…

Leave a Reply

