He accepts me…..

One of my recent posts explained how I find it difficult to believe in myself and my abilities. I knock myself down because I compare myself to others and what they can do. I find it hard to accept that I cannot do everything.

I constantly think about how I see myself and I do not give a thought to how others see me.  As many of you know I am a Christian. I know how much God loves me but when I am stuck in the middle of my thoughts I can easily forget that. I have an application on my Facebook account called ‘God wants you to know…’ It gives a message from God each day. I understand that it is a computer generated application. After all, how can a computer know exactly what I feel? Or what I am going through? But when I looked at today’s message I had to re-read it several times. This is what it said:

that when you feel down, look at yourself through God’s eyes. There are times when no matter how hard you try, you just cannot accept yourself as you are. During such times, think of how you look to God’s eyes. In God’s eyes, there is no judgment, there is only acceptance. God sees your light when all that you can see are your shadows. God loves you more than anyone could ever love you as you really are.

This message reminded me that God sees me perfect, even though I am far from it. God does not judge me on what I can and cannot do. He accepts me for who I am. I may not be perfect at singing or dancing or whatever but that does not matter to God. God has given me the abilities I have for a reason. And in the same way, He has not given me other abilities that I wish I had. All that matters is that I try to live for Him and use the abilities He has given me to share His love and His salvation.

 

“You don’t love someone because they are perfect, you love someone in spite of the fact that they are not…”

–          Jodi Picoult

One thought on “He accepts me…..

  1. This blog is really good especially the message off the application that starts off with – “that when you feel down, look at yourself through god’s eyes”. The message is so true and it means a lot to me. I cannot stop reading it.

Leave a Reply

