Love…

The “most romantic day of the year” is fast approaching; Valentine’s Day. In my opinion, Valentine’s Day causes the whole world to go a little crazy; buying every heart-shaped gift they can get their hands on, chocolates, flowers etc. I remember one year, I was given a little heart-shaped cushion and a rose. It actually made my day. Then again I was ten and one of the few girls who had received a Valentine’s gift.

Valentine’s day forces us into one of two categories; single or taken. Many people would say that Valentine’s day is only for those who are in a relationship or married. A chance to show that special person that you love them, that you care about them and that you value them.

The way I see it, if you love someone should you not show them love all year round? Why limit it to just one day?

In my eyes, every new day is a chance to do something kind for others, to show love towards someone, even a stranger. You do not have to be in a relationship to show love. It could be something as simple as encouraging a friend; giving them advice about something they are struggling with, or holding the door open for someone, or cooking a meal for your family. The list could go on.

I am not in a relationship and I am content with that. I do not need the “most romantic day of the year” to know that I am loved. I know that I am loved 365 (366, if it is a leap year) days a year. I know a love that is endless and one that can never be taken away, despite how many times I mess up. I believe that this kind of love can only be given by one but it can be accepted by millions. I am talking about the love that God gives. He does not buy me expensive jewellery, or flowers, or chocolates or heart-shaped cushions. But He gives me gifts that are priceless: forgiveness and grace. I certainly do not deserve those gifts but He gives them to me because He loves me.

“For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

(John 3 vs 16)

Leave a Reply

