Everything – Lifehouse

I have heard this song quite a few times. But I have never really sat and listened to the words and thought about them, until today. This morning, at church, the Lifehouse Everything Skit was played to us (I posted it last week on my blog). I have watched this video quite a lot recently and it has brought tears to my eyes every time. Today was no different. For some reason, I watched the video from a different angle. Yes I watched the pictures and what was happening but I listened to the words more closely than I had done before. I was so moved by the video that I had to get up and leave the room. I could still hear the words though.

‘Cause you’re all I want, you’re all I need, You’re everything, everything…’

There I was stood in silence with these few words replaying over and over in my head. It got me thinking about all the things I wanted or wished that I had…I wish I was skinner, I wish I was prettier, I wish I had a job, I wish I was back at university, the list is endless. I came to realise that I do not need any of that. None of those things really matter. (Okay, maybe the last two do matter, but that is irrelevant at the moment). For me what matters most, above everything else, is being in a relationship with God.

The everything skit portrays the things that can get in the way of a relationship with God and also the materialistic things of the world…trying to make ourselves feel and look beautiful, alcohol and being involved with people who are bad for us. There are way more things that the video did not include. We have all struggled with different issues, myself included. But we all have the chance to turn that around.

What I love about this video is the ending. Yes, we go through many different things, we turn from God to things that are bad for us. But God NEVER gives up on us. He keeps fighting for us. He never, ever stops reaching out to us. And He is there through everything we face.

I had this overwhelming feeling today. I want the words of ‘Everything’ to be true in my life. I want God to be my everything. I want him to supply me with everything I need. And I want it to be for HIS glory. I am going to depend on him. God is bigger, God is stronger and He knows best!!!

‘You are the strength that keeps me walking, You are the hope that keeps me trusting, You are the life to my soul, You are my purpose, You’re everything…’

Everything – Lifehouse

2 thoughts on “Everything – Lifehouse

  1. Thanks for this… I was listening to this on the way home and thinking exactly the same thing! God is faithful, God has always been faithful and he has no intention of giving up on you at all… He is your everything, all we have to do is realise it and let him… 🙂 Keep up the great work – the blog is ace!! x

  2. I love it!!! What I love more is the fact that He will never give up on me. Even though I do get things wrong. Thanks for your lovely words. They mean a lot!! 🙂

    Thank you 🙂 You too!! xx

Leave a Reply

