Change

Today in work I was listening to the Change album, released by the Sugababes in 2007. I have listened to this album a few times and there is one song that really stands out to me. When I first heard it I really liked it. Here are the lyrics.

Change

If I could hold you close, like you were never gone.
If I could hear your voice, you’d tell me to be strong.

But sometimes, I just can’t
I just don’t understand, why you had to go, why you had to go
I guess I’ll never know

Ain’t it funny how you think, you’re gonna be OK
Till you remember things are never
Gonna be the same again, the same again
Ain’t it crazy how you think, you’ve got your whole life planned
Just to find that it was never ever
In your hand, in your hand,
Change

If I could get to you, I’d be there in a minute.
My world don’t make no sense, not without you in it.

And sometimes, I just cry, can’t say I, don’t know why
Why’d you have to go? Why’d you have to go?
And leave me here alone, and leave me here alone

Ain’t it funny how you think, you’re gonna be OK
Till you remember things are never
Gonna be the same again, the same again
Ain’t it crazy how you think, you’ve got your whole life planned
Just to find that it was never ever
In your hand, in your hand,
Change

You don’t see it coming, change
When the future comes knocking, it changed.
It can make you or break you too
You’d just have to make it through
(You’d just have to make it through)

Ain’t it funny how you think, you’re gonna be OK
Till you remember things are never
Gonna be the same again, the same again
Ain’t it crazy how you think, you’ve got your whole life planned
Just to find that it was never ever
In your hand, in your hand,
Change

The reason I like this song so much is because of the chorus (the words in italics). It is so true and it touches me every time I hear it.

 And it has become relevant to my life at this very moment. The life changing decision I have made in the past week has left me feeling anxious but also excited. Everything has completely changed and I know that things will never, ever be that way again. It is possible that I will not find myself back there again in the future. I do not know how to feel about that; happy or sad? Relieved? I would have to say all three if I am being completely honest.

 Two years ago I had my whole future mapped out. And I was on my way to getting there. But I have realised recently that it is not my life to plan.  I am a Christian therefore my life belongs to God. I am here for God to use me for good. And one day I am certain I will know what that is. I made my own plans but they fell apart. I believe they fell apart because God has something better. They fell apart because I made the mistake of not involving God. I took my plans and started out on my journey, alone. And I failed. So now, God is in control. I like to think of it like this; I am not giving up on my life, I am just giving it back to the one who died for it!

 In America there is charismatic Christian author named Joyce Meyer. I am linked to the Joyce Meyer Ministries on Facebook. I saw the following words yesterday on their status. When God withholds a desire it is only because He wants to bestow something that He knows is better. I honestly believe that is true. I had my desires, my dreams and aspirations but God stopped them. At this moment in time only He knows why He did that. But like I said earlier He will reveal the reason in his timing. He wants to give me something that is far better than anything I could ever imagine. And I am excited to find out what it is!!!

But those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.

(Isaiah 40 vs 31)

Leave a Reply

