Judging…

This has been on my heart for a while now and a blog post I read earlier gave me lots to think about. Hence the reason I wanted to share this.

We live in a world where we are constantly judging others. We are so quick to judge those around us that we forgot about our own faults and flaws and our own mistakes. I know people who do this often, and I include myself in that.

These are just a few examples I have come up with. We judge the woman who has had one too many in the pub on a Friday night, when we have been there at least once. We judge the overweight man we pass on the street, when we have battled with our own weight issues in the past. We judge the angry person who is arguing with the person who has crashed into their car, when we get angry ourselves. We judge the homeless person sleeping in the street, when we know nothing about their circumstances. We judge the young women wearing clothes from a charity shop, when we know we have brought something from a similar shop. We judge the young man with various addictions, when we struggle with our own addictions.

We often judge people because we only see half of what they are going through. Every circumstance has a reason behind it. Take the woman in the pub, she could have just had some bad news and did not take it well. The overweight person you pass may have a medical condition that stops them from losing weight quickly. The homeless person in the street may have lost their home because they could not afford the rent. The young man with the addictions may have grown up surrounded by addictive habits.

We find ourselves in situations, and sometimes it feels impossible for us to get out of them. People are quick to give us their opinions and to judge us instead of offering a supportive word or two. I remember finding a quote by Mother Theresa a few years back and I have never forgotten it. If you judge someone, you have no time to love them. How true is that? We create our own opinions, and perceptions of a person and we probably never find out who they really are. We look at someone and instantly decide we do not like them. So we do not attempt to get to know them. By not getting to know them, you could potentially be neglecting them of the very thing they need…love. I remember in high school there was a girl in my year who was popular and fairly loud. I judged her for everything; the way she behaved, the way she dressed, even the way she hardly ever did her homework. It was not until a few years later that we were in the same class working in the same group. And I found that she was really nice. I judged her before I got to know her.

I think that when we judge others it can say a lot about us as a person. It can show that we are not accustomed to the different lifestyles that people may have, or that we are inconsiderate to the feelings of others. It can say that we would rather make up personalities, whether they are accurate or not, instead of getting to know a person. It can also say that we do not care about the circumstances that others may find themselves in, or even that we do not care about others at all. I do not know about you but looking at those last few lines, I have to be honest and say that I can relate to one or more of them.

“I know I am not perfect, and I don’t live to be. But before you start pointing fingers, make sure your hands are clean.”

 – Bob Marley

Leave a Reply

