He is bigger than everything we face…

Don’t tell God how big your storm is; tell the storm how big your God is…

This quote has come to me a lot over the years but more so in this past week. It has not always been those words but they have been similar. It has really challenged me. I found myself asking whether I actually believed God was bigger than all the things that I face in life. Honestly, I would have to say that I believed it but in the mist of my dark times, I felt like I was fighting a losing battle. I knew God was there for me but I never really allowed Him the chance to fix things. Two of my biggest flaws are being impatient and wanting to be in control. I always try to control everything; what food my family eat, what we watch on television, what we buy when we go shopping, where I go with my group of friends, the list is endless. It drives me (and everyone else I would imagine) crazy. As for being impatient, when I come to a problem or a situation that has gone wrong, I try to fix it myself. I want a solution straight away. I want it to be right again at that very moment. But guess what? I fail. Simply because I am human and that is what humans do best.

There have been times in the past where I have allowed God to be in control but it has occurred to me recently that if I truly believe what the Bible says about who God is, if I truly believe the words I sing when I worship God (which I do!!!) then I have to let Him take control of every situation and every problem. I have to hand the reins over to Him permanently and stop snatching them back. I need to allow Him access to the whole of my life so that He can work in me, change me and restore the broken parts in order to make me complete.

The following song was sung in church this morning. I have not heard it in months and so I found it quite amusing that it was sung today especially after I have been seeing constant reminders about God being bigger than everything that we face. God is definitely trying to tell me something.

Leave a Reply

