Palm Sunday

 

This morning in church we were encouraged to share God with those who we meet in our daily lives; family, friends, neighbours and those we see in the communities where we live. The Bible tells us that we are on this earth to serve God and to share His love with those who desperately need it.

Our Pastor spoke about how Jesus had one week between entering Jerusalem and His crucifixion. We are not guaranteed that. In fact, we are not even guaranteed tomorrow. There are so many people (I used to be one!) who think that they have all the time in the world to decide they want to spend eternity in heaven. Reality tells us that that is not true. We do not know what will happen for us within the next few hours. We simply do not know when our life will end. Our life is in the hands of God. He decides when our time on this earth is up, not us.

We were reminded that our names are written in the book of life. However there are people out there whose names are not. There are people who will not enter eternity. It could be our parents, our children, our next door neighbour or the woman who works behind the till at our local shop. It scared me slightly to realise that I may have to face eternity without some of my closest friends. We have two options: we can sit back in our chairs and say that it is sad that there are people who will not enter eternity or we can do something about it. We can share God with those we meet.

Our lives our filled with trials and difficulties. Our heart aches from the pains of everyday living. But you can give your heart to the one who created it, the one who knows you inside and out, and who loves you despite your weaknesses and your sin. You can give it to the one who knows all about you but loves you enough to look past your failures and see your potential. Your heart does not have to be clean, or whole to come before God. That is a job for Him. There is no sin that is too big that He cannot forgive it. There is no pain so big that He cannot help you overcome it. There is no heart so broken that He cannot mend it. He takes your heart in whatever condition it is in. Bruised? Broken? Heavy? Scarred? He takes every heart and sets out to heal and mend it. You just have to let Him. I can assure you that He is waiting for YOU!

I have been a Christian for nine years. Has my life been easy? Far from it! You see, I am similar to you. Just because I am a Christian, it does not mean I am guaranteed a healthy, good, pain-free life. I still get illnesses and I still fall when faced with weaknesses. Being a Christian does not make me any more important than you. In the eyes of God we are all the same.

When I say “I am a Christian”

(Carol Wimmer)

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting “I am saved”
I’m whispering “I get lost!”
“That is why I chose this way.”

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
and need someone to be my guide.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
and pray for strength to carry on.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed
and cannot ever pay the debt.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
my flaws are too visible
but God believes I’m worth it.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain
I have my share of heartaches
which is why I seek His name.

When I say…”I am a Christian”
I do not wish to judge.
I have no authority.
I only know I’m loved.

 

 When you can’t touch your heart, and you are drowning in the pain, hold onto the one who made that heart, and trust Him to cling to it for you

-Christi Armstrong

Leave a Reply

