And only grace provides the way for me to stand complete…

Yesterday in Church three people were baptised and it was a great time of celebrating and giving glory to God. I love baptisms because I love hearing how God has changed lives. But not only do I like hearing it, I love seeing exactly how He has done it. For me, nothing says it more than our actions. It is easy to say with words how God has changed us but to show it through our actions really shows that we are serious about what we say. At the end of the day, words are just words. People often forget words that someone has spoken but they are more likely to remember their actions. For example, I went to an all-girls school. In the lower years, girls were always falling out getting into little, petty fights. It was rare that people remembered what was said but they always remember who pushed who, or who hit who.   

Those three people who were baptised had three different stories and had lived different lives. Yet the reason for taking the step they took was similar. They realised that they needed God, and that God wanted them as His children. They had realised that they were sinners and that only God could take their shame, their guilt and their wrongs away and only He could renew their lives.

When I was baptised, it was one of the best days of my life. I did not see it as something I had to do because I was a Christian. I know people who are Christians and have not been baptised. It was something I wanted to do to show people just how much God meant to me. I wanted to show my family and my friends that I needed God. I was admitting that I had messed up, that I had made mistakes and that I needed a clean slate. I had been broken in a thousand different ways and I came to understand that only God could knit me back together again. The only way I was ever going to be whole again was through the love and grace that God so freely gives.

Leave a Reply

