Eighteen: The person you wish you could be

Dear Caroline,

It took me a while to figure out whom to address this letter to as I have never really wanted to be anyone else. I do admire people but being someone else would be a waste of the person you already are. So I am afraid you will have to bear with me on this one.

I want to be a modified version of myself. I want to be more confident and to be a million times stronger than I am, both physically and mentally. I want to be skinnier so I can wear a smaller dress size. I want perfect skin and to be pretty. I would love my eyesight to be perfect and my ears to be fully functional. I wish that I was taller and my shoe size was bigger than a three, a size four maybe. I want to be able to enjoy eating healthily and have an exercise regime that I could and would stick to. I would love to be able to sing in tune and to be good at public speaking. I wish that I could deal with confrontation and that I did not get so easily annoyed. I would love to pass my driving test and have my own freedom; I want to be a driver, not a learner.

So I do not want the life of a celebrity or the life of a friend who is prettier or skinnier than me. I want to be the person I already am, just an improved version.

Love yourself.

Leave a Reply

