Fake smiles and false laughter…

Over the past two weeks I have had deep, difficult conversations with two very close friends of mine. When disaster strikes, I find that I never have the right words to say but I wanted to let them both know that they matter. So girls, this is for you.

I never once heard you complain that life was tough. You laughed in all the right places and said all the right words. You hid behind a smile, a fake smile until you could no longer pretend that everything was fine.  The tears fell and all sense of meaning that you once had disappeared.

During our Facebook chat conversations and our texts I wished that I could reach inside my phone and laptop just to hug you. You feel as though the world would be a better place without you but trust me that is not true. So do not ever think that!

You think that you do not deserve happiness, and that your future will be the same as your present. I insist that that is not the case. You deserve to be happy, and you deserve to have a fun, amazing, happy life. You deserve to love and be loved. And you will.

It breaks my heart to see you pretend that your pain and your struggles do not matter, that they are insignificant. I can tell that you feel guilty for feeling the way you do. Those feelings are nothing to be ashamed off, and your pain does matter. It matters to me because I love you, and I care about you. I want more than anything for you to realise that you matter. I want you to understand that your life matters. Simply because it does.

You are beautiful, inside and out. You say that you look in the mirror and see an ugly, fat person. I am telling you they are lies. YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!!!

 

You are alive. And your life is worth living.

Leave a Reply

