America, we remember you

9/11

untitled

Thirteen years ago today two planes hit the Twin Towers in America killing just under three thousand people including eleven unborn babies.

I remember that day as if it was yesterday. I was eight years old. It was a Tuesday and school had only just started when the news broke about the attacks. Teachers set up a television in the assembly hall and we watched the aftermath unfold. It was one of the most horrific things I had ever seen. At eight years old, the evil in this world became known to me. I cannot remember what I was thinking or feeling but I do remember the sniffles around the room as we saw broken, injured people trying to find a place of safety. Tears rolled down my cheeks, and those of my classmates, as bodies were carried from the wreckage.

What a waste of three thousand lives?

I cannot imagine what the families of those lost that day went through and are still going through today. There are children who have had to grow up over the last thirteen years without a mother or a father, an auntie or an uncle. There are men and women who have had to bring up their children alone because their loved one did not come home that fateful day.

My heart, like millions of others around the world, still breaks for those who were murdered on September 11th 2001. My heart still breaks for all those families who are grieving the loss of their loved ones, not just today but everyday.

My prayer for those families is for peace and comfort at this time. I pray that they can find strength even though their lives have been ripped apart. I pray for God’s protection over America today and always.

10678647_738979736167957_5649315606755194181_n

Here in Liverpool (UK) we paid tribute to all those killed on this day thirteen years ago.

Leave a Reply

