Is He first in your life?

Yesterday in Church we watched this video. Our Pastor was speaking about whether God is first in our life or do we allow the material things of this world to take that first place. After the video finished I smiled to myself and thought ‘hang on a minute this video was for me’. Since I arrived home from Camp, just over a week ago, I have been spending more time reading my Bible. My Bible focus this week has been on the book of Colossians. One of the verses I read was this:

“And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” (Colossians 1:17)

After reading Colossians 1 verses 15-20, I spent about forty-five minutes studying them. One of the things I took from these verses was that we must always put God first. Despite what is happening in our life God has to be first. We should not turn to things that are bad for us. Instead we must turn to the one who is good for us.

I really feel that God is speaking to me right now. I will admit that I have taken a few wrong turns. I am a broken human being. I am easily influenced by others. And I need God now more than I have ever needed Him before. Although I have spent a lot of time reading my Bible this week, I have also spent a lot of time doing things that are of this world. Things that are bad for me. Things that can damage my relationship with the one who loves me unconditionally, the one who gave up everything to pay the price for my sin.

Leave a Reply

