2014: The Lessons

As we approach the end of this year I wanted to share with you some of the lessons I have learnt over the past twelve months.

Firstly, I was employed full-time from January to the middle of August. After spending two months off work for personal reasons I found out that my contract was being terminated. Although I knew it was going to happen, it was still a shock! I would like to be able to say that I enjoyed my job and felt appreciated but on this occasion I have to say that my dad was right.

The lesson: Some people will work you so hard and not even care what the pressure is doing to you. The people who care and want to see you develop will always consider your feels and realise your abilities before pushing you to work all the hours God sends.

tumblr_md6amsLPeV1rnqh10o1_500

In October I had a major fallout with a so-called friend. He always boasted about us being best friends as we got on so well. We made each other laugh for no reason and we trusted each other. However when things got tough he showed his true colours. The way he treated me and spoke to me completely broke me. I realised I did not want, or need, people like that in my life.

The lesson: Not everyone you meet in life is there to provide you with love and give you those memories you will be reliving when your hair turns grey. I hope that you are much better at picking out the good people than I am.

Learn to let go Not everyone in your life is meant to stay

This year has been one of the most difficult for me emotionally.Some battles I won and others I lost. As cliché as it sounds, I would not have got through this year without the support of my friends and family. I truly believe that without them I would not have attended all the hospital appointments, or walked through the door to my doctor’s surgery.

The lesson: Those who care about you will always find a reason to stay. No matter how hard you try to push them away they will still be there for you. That has to be the biggest thing I have learnt this year. People do care and they do love. People are kind and are concerned about your future. 

winnie pooh

Lastly, as a Christian, I have tried my best this year to seek God more. My relationship with Him has definitely changed. Sometimes I have failed when I have been tested and other times I have succeeded in resisting temptation. In the last four months, I have really felt God’s touch on my life. I have felt Him surrounding and sustaining me. He has been my strength when I did not want to get out of bed and my comforter when things have hit me hard.

The lesson: God is everything you need. And it is as simple as that!

God is all you need

I pray you all have a fabulous New Year and that 2015 brings you hope, health and happiness.

Leave a Reply

