54/365: Bullying

image

54/365: Bullying — Bullying hurts. Bullying damages lives and destroys people. It breaks people so much that they get ill. Some people even take their own life because of bullying. It breaks my heart when I read about a child taking their life because of the way somebody has treated them. Unfortunately bullies do not know what is going on in their victim’s life nor would they care. I have been a victim of bullying. It started when I was eight and did not stop until I was fourteen. I was quiet at school which I guess made me an easy target. I did not know how to stand up for myself. The truth is I should not have had to. I was called names and I was laughed at. Sometimes I was physically hurt. I was cyber bullied too. Bullying made school difficult. I did not want to be there. But I did not let the bullies stop me from getting an education. I went to school and I did my school work. I kept my head down and tried my best to ignore them. I faced my bullies day in day out because I had no choice. It was either I won or they did. I was certainly not going to let them win. Bullies look for things that are different. They bully other people because they are not the same as them. We should embrace the differences in others. We are not all the same and that is okay. We were all created differently. I would urge all parents to teach their children how to stand up for themselves, tell them how much they are worth. Drill it into their heads that they matter. Make sure they know who they go to if they are being bullied. Always be approachable and allow your children to share their worries with you. Teach your children to respect others and show them how to be kind. It is time we stamped out bullying. Too many lives are being lost due to people hurting others. It is time that changed!

Leave a Reply

