103/365: Best

image

103/365: Best — Growing up we are taught to always be the best, to always do our best and to accept nothing but the best. But what is the best? Being good at everything? Always putting a hundred percent effort into everything we do? Getting everything right first time? I think telling children to do their best and telling them to be the best could cause more damage  than good. Children get things wrong and that should be okay. I got loads of things wrong when I was younger and that is how I learnt. I once washed my hair with soap in the school toilets. I was six or seven years old. I was trying my best! I did not get into trouble but I did get a few funny looks….. My teacher rinsed my hair, stuck my head under the dryer and took me back to class. That is how I learned the difference between shampoo and soap. I believe telling children to accept nothing but the best builds them up for a fall. People make mistakes and they can disappoint and hurt us. That does not mean they are unlovable or bad people. They are human.

Leave a Reply

